Processed is NOT Healthy!

Unless you live under a rock, you surely have heard about the Burger King Impossible Whopper. A vegan fast food “burger” that is so unbelievably close to the “real thing” its scary. Well, let me tell you actually what is scary here.

The first thing that hits my brain, is that so many people are so happy because less cows will be dying over this. Fact is, the same amount of people that eat the true Whopper will still be eating the beef version. (and I am guessing here, but I am thinking that the plant patties are being cooked on the same grill as the beef ones?) People that are already vegetarian will find this as an easy fix in a meal bind, so I cant see the saving of cows to be the big draw here. Of course, there will be a few meat eaters that are curious, and will cross the line, if only just to give it a try. So, let’s not give Burger Kind the Bovine Metal of Peace yet.

Secondly, (and more important, to me at least)….this is STILL PROCESSED FOOD!! The company that makes the burger’s for BK, Impossible Foods has the ingredients on their website for the burger as: Water, Soy Protein Concentrate, Coconut Oil, Sunflower Oil, Natural Flavors, 2% or less of: Potato Protein, Methylcellulose, Yeast Extract, Cultured Dextrose, Food Starch Modified, Soy Leghemoglobin, Salt, Soy Protein Isolate, Mixed Tocopherols (Vitamin E), Zinc Gluconate, Thiamine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B1), Sodium Ascorbate (Vitamin C), Niacin, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Riboflavin (Vitamin B2), Vitamin B12.

Just for fun, lets go with methylcellulose. The internet says this: Methyl cellulose is a chemical compound derived from cellulose. It is sold under a variety of trade names and is used as a thickener and emulsifier in various food and cosmetic products, and also as a bulk-forming laxative. Like cellulose, it is not digestible, not toxic, and not an allergen. This is a big no for me, sorry. Especially when there are plenty of recipes out there where you can make your own plant based burger. (I will post one I love!).

If that is not enough for you, or if you are more into just nutrition, and not so much ethics (nothing wrong with just wanting to be healthy!!) how about this. If you eat a BK Impossible Whopper, in its original form (without holding anything) this is what you are looking at. 630 calories. 34g of fat. I don’t know about you but that is enough for me! But I will go on. 11g saturated fat, 10mg of cholesterol….are you ready for this?………1080g of sodium!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 58g of carbs, 4g of fiber, 12g of sugar and 25g of protein.

What’s my point? Just say no, skip it. With so many other healthy options out there, there is NOTHING in this burger that makes me all happy and giddy or excited.

Namaste.

Leave a comment